The Blood Moon 2018

0
146
views

The longest total lunar eclipse of the 21st is just a month away.

The total phase of the “Blood Moon” eclipse of July 27 will last 1 hour and 43 minutes, during which Earth’s natural satellite will turn a spectacular red or ruddy brown colour. From start to finish entire celestial event will last for 4 hours.

The July blood moon will illuminate the night skies with an eerie red glow on the night of July 27 to July 28, next month. The moon turns deep red or reddish brown during eclipses, instead of going completely dark. That’s because some of the sunlight going through Earth’s atmosphere is bent around the edge of our planet and falls onto moon’s surface.

The eclipse won’t be visible to viewers in North America. But observers in much of Africa, the Middle East, southern Asia and the Indian Ocean region will get an eyeful, given cooperative weather according to Lunar scientist Noah Petro.

On the night of the eclipse, scattered sunlight in the atmosphere will paint the moon red but conspiracy theorists fear the eclipse is an apocalyptic sign from the heavens.

Unlike solar eclipses, you need no special equipment to observe lunar eclipses. These latter events, which occur when the moon passes into Earth’s shadow, are safe to view directly with the naked eye, telescopes or binoculars.

The time of the great eclipse will be 4:21 pm EDT(2021 GMT) on July 27.T he total eclipse will last from 3:30 pm to 5:13 pm EDT (1930  to 2113 GMT). There will also be sometime before and after when the moon is in the lighter part of Earth’s shadow, which is called the penumbra. Including that penumbral time, the eclipse will last for 3 hours and 55 mins.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.